New Gig

So, I got the job! Well sort of. Remember how I was saying it’s really hard to get a job in entertainment? And how I was thinking about moving to New York to escape the Carter regime?*  Because I’m not getting any younger and bills aren’t getting any lower. Why not take another uncalculated risk? Two weeks ago I decided I would just make the move.

one-does-not-simply-meme-generator-one-does-not-simply-go-to-new-york-9bb975

While I waited to hear back from my last interview, I kept applying to jobs, half-heartedly.  I received a call back literally an hour later for an assistant position for some no name creative company. Turns out it was a temp agency and they wanted me to come in the next day for an interview. I went in for the interview expecting to hear about a short term job with very little pay that I would none the less take because I needed the money if I was going to move to NY. The recruiter informed me that company name was concealed from the ad due to its prominence. When the recruiter causally named the mega cable network, I did 17 black flips and the running man, on the inside. I couldn’t even focus after that. I kept thinking about all those jobs I applied to, the cool production company, the adult playgrounds, and the camera equipment company that never called me back. All those jobs meant absolutely nothing compared to the cable network I was going to be working at for the next 3-4 months (hopefully longer if I’m lucky).

beyonce-birthday-running-man

So here I am a year since I took my big leap of faith and quit my secure salaried job. A year since I’ve had benefits (don’t tell Obama). A year since I decided to pursue a career in writing full-time. And because I’m not trying to lose this position I’ll just let you guess the network. Here’s a hint: which network received the most Emmy nominations this year?

 

*Yes, I know Jay and Bey basically rule New York and it doesn’t make sense that I would move there to escape their reign. It’s called irony.

One thought on “New Gig

Leave a Reply

