Executive Decisions

Annnnd we’re back, well kinda. My life has turned into one big iPhone calendar eagerly waiting to be filled. I’ve never really been a busy body but lately I’ve found myself actually having to use my iPhone calendar to remember things. Things like; what shifts I’m covering at the restaurant, what temp jobs I’m working, and reminding myself to see Mocking Jay (which was epic BTW). One calendar appointment I’ve been anticipating is my first gig back at my favorite cable network as an executive assistant! This is my ideal job that I’ve been trying to lock down.

So when you think of Hollywood exec’s what do you think of? Men with headsets, drinking venti coffees, yelling about some deal or at an agent.

images-12

And if you thought this, you’re sexist! Women can be big time exec assholes too. But seriously if you thought that you would be 100% right. I always pictured being an executive assistant was like being Anne Hathaway in the Devil Wears Prada.

200_s

While I was training with the current assistant she said this about the executive, “She’s usually nice to temps but she may yell at you, just don’t take it personal”. I thought great; I’m going to be on pins and needles all day cowering in fear of being yelled at by this woman.  I don’t know if it was a combination of nerves or just me not knowing how to use the phone system but on my first day I hung up on the exec about 5 times while trying to connect her calls! I was sure I was either going to be yelled at or asked to leave the building when she arrived to the office. However, she just went about her daily tasks of asking me to get her things I hoped were left for me or easy to find. Working for an executive is like having a child, a busy, short tempered, forgetful child. You have to tell them what to do, who to call, and where to go. For example: Who’s my lunch with? Where’s my lunch? I need directions. Should I be wearing pants? – (a joke but a likely question)

2014-08-10-TDWP2

The perks of this job are getting to overhear industry convos; what’s coming out, who’s going to be in what, and who everyone secretly hates. And you get to read scripts! When I think about it minus all the industry BS and scary execs with scowls it’s really a great place to be. I tried my best to stay on top of things and not get yelled at and it actually worked. I was surprised by how smooth things went.

tumblr_mu5iotYxyo1r066hlo2_250

This morning I woke up with a profound sense of gratitude. I’d been so worried about doing a good job, getting a permanent job here, and just being an overall scary cat that I hadn’t stopped to appreciate where I am. I’m not at the top and I’m not necessarily at the bottom. But I’m exactly where I should be and for that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

