Do I have to be homeless to make it?

I have a confession. I like Rae Sremmurd (pronounced “Ray Shrim-er”) . I’m not sure if I just like them satirically or if I actually like them. Either way after I Wikipedia’d my new teenage ratchet rap obsession; I started thinking about what it takes to be successful. One thing that most successful people have in common is that right before they made it, they were homeless. That’s right Rae Sremmurd, Chris Pratt, Tyler Perry, and J.K. Rowling were all bums before they hit big. But is that the only way?  I joke about being homeless but it’s a real possibility. Not like I’d be the crazy lady screaming at trashcans on the streets. I would however be that friend who has to couch surf or worse, move back in with my dad.

Big+bird+jobless+and+homeless+hollywoodleakcom_2bb772_4142032 rs_245x130-140108144807-tumblr_mw9awmzIVP1so11geo2_250

Being homeless should humble you, build character and make you fight even harder for your dreams. But do you have to hit complete rock bottom? And if so what is rock bottom? Is it living from pay check to pay check or living from no check to no check? My goal when I quit my full time salaried, lap of luxury job in 2013 was to force myself to go after my dreams. I wanted to be hungry (as the rappers say) but not physically hungry.  I guess all I can do is keep doing what I’m doing and pray I make it before life (bills) catch up with me. They are closing in fast at the moment. But If I do end up on the streets I have a plan; chill at my favorite coffee shop bumping “No Flex Zone”.

Leave a Reply

