Hug it Out

giphy
My name is Kiana and I’m an awkward hugger.  There I said it. I own it. I’ve never been a big hugger and some would say it’s because my parents weren’t the most affectionate people or because of some other event that happened or didn’t happen while I was being socialized. Whatever the reason is I’m starting to hate it. It’s not that I don’t like hugging or being hugged. It’s just that I think of hugging as an agreement between two people. But what if I don’t know if that person agrees? When is it appropriate to hug? When do you know the person even wants to be hugged?

stepbrothers-handshake
Meeting up with leaving people gives me the most anxiety. I have to make decision if we’re gonna hug or nah. Then there are the times I leave a group of people and hug a few people and hope that the ones I didn’t hug don’t think I’m a non hugging jerk. Then when I do hug, I give the awkward side hug  which is sometimes worst than not hugging at all.  Someone needs to invent an app, a TED talk, or at least a sign that lets people know it’s safe to hug. Sigh…

bro10

Leave a Reply

