A Real (Millennial) Job

So remember that post about not getting that job? Right after that I got a random email from a recruiter at an Ad agency on LinkedIN. I started to dismiss it as spam but something told me to look them up. Turns out they are one of the coolest creative ad agencies out there partnering with the likes of Jay Z!

The more I learned about the company the more I became interested. I know what you’re thinking; “Kiana, that’s not a network or a TV show, I thought you wanted to be closer to a writing room? And blah, blah, blah.” To that I say, I can still write, pursue my writing career and get this money!  Not temp money, but grown up salary-taking international trips-paying a car note and insurance-might be able to afford something at Whole Foods, type of money. So after I threw out an ideal salary to the recruiter during my phone interview and she basically replied like it was nothing to a boss, I jumped to schedule my in person interview.
001103x8

I’ve been through a million interviews for almost every type of job. But never for a creative ad agency. I kind of had an idea of what the company culture was going to be like based on their cool ass clients and a video blog tour of their offices. They do things like free food Fridays, have wine and beer on tap, and have live music performances for their employees, and a basketball court made from the UCLA Pauley Pavilion court. I was excited off the perks alone. The job description is basically what I’m doing now but wayyy cooler and millennial, yes, I just used millennial as a verb.

millenial-kate-snl
I met with 3 Directors during my first interview. Every conversation was easy and flowed like I was talking to one of my girlfriends. I was comfortable, which almost never happens. And the second round was even more chill. I talked about Pintrest recipes with one interviewer for like an hour while we sat outside and sipped lattes. Oh AND there were cute guys everywhere! Could it be that I might meet the Jim to my Pam at this place?
tumblr_mm8fliGtbt1qdvp4lo2_250
I don’t know. All I know is I saw lots of tattoos, beards, and expensive haircuts.
ea532755a49a2411962aa172110f5700

Anywho I’m up for round 3 next week. I don’t what’s going to happen so…

To Be Continued..

3 thoughts on “A Real (Millennial) Job

Leave a Reply

