Moving Day

Today is  my last day as a contracted employee at America’s #1 network. Not only is it my last day but this office is actually moving to another building.  Coincidentally, I’m also moving into a new apartment. It kinda feels like that day I moved into my college dorms. Which is exactly how my new  job’s office looks and feels, like college dorms. In the midst of all this moving and new beginnings I realized….I still want to move out of LA.
giphy

Sometimes I feel like Dave Chapelle, minus the millions of dollars: I just want to get away from it all and move to Africa. Well, maybe not Africa, but somewhere else foreign. Maybe I’ll ask God to make me a bird, “So I can fly far far away”.

200_s

I’ve lived LA all my life except for that one time in the 6th grade when my mom moved us to Florida. I was almost abducted and I went to Disney World 4 times. Now, I’m yearning to be a transplant again. It seems like everyone I meet is from somewhere else. Where have all the Los Angeles natives gone? New York? Miami? Mars? Vegas? (God I hate Vegas).

vegas 12mg5ojODE4ARq

I had this thought as I was scrolling through pics from a secret show I didn’t win tickets to and I saw two guys that I dated in a pic together looking like BFF’s. And by dated I mean I went out on 1 date with each of them. They are both DJ’s. I wasn’t intentionally dating DJ’s but it just turned out that way because I live in f*cking LA and all you ever meet is entertainment people. Anyway, seeing them together and all the other generic LA hipsters and scene-sters made me realize I’m really tired of LA.

instagram-hipster-filter

I’ve just been fooling myself by trying to meet new people and trying new things in LA. It’s like I’m trying to distract myself from how much I hate being here. I’m also in desperate need of a vacation. The furthest I’ve driven this year is to Malibu. I know these may sound like first world problems- and they are. Maybe I’ll just make a Facebook group for all the other Angelenos who feel this way. And maybe we will all make a mass exodus out of LA.

745e15aa7450ecba38af1fb1025403897c99be85d58bf182c9a414b3dd5d116f
Leave a Reply

