New Kid On the Block

So I’m finishing up my first week working for the coolest creative ad agency company I’ve ever worked for.  I’m sure it’s no coincidence that one of my first temp jobs was at a media company or an Adult Playground as I called it. Funny how things always come full circle;
Day 1: I was given a tour of the offices which felt like more like a tour for golden ticket winners from Willie Wonka and the  Chocolate Factory. I severely underestimated how cool this place was. Disclaimer; I’m going to use the word “cool” a lot, because that’s the only word I can use to convey the sheer awesomeness of this place. During orientation IT walked us through how to use our fancy new MacBook Air’s using a fancy Keynote presentation or “Deck” as they call them. Each slide had some random gif from Step Brothers, it’s as if they were “advertising” to me and love for Will Farrell movies.
hqdefault
Day 2: I spent the morning setting up my desk, going through cool (there’s that word again) work email chains about mentoring programs, free giveaways, and weird requests like; asking if anyone had a recent x-ray of their skull, which was absolutely work related. I also had a one on one orientation meeting with my boss while her dog licked my feet. Obviously, I’ve had to conquer my fear of dogs, well, sort of.
 tumblr_m9h2mpUmCN1qlizfso1_500
Day 3:  This was the day of the highly anticipated “Pumpkin Roll”. Which is exactly what it sounds like only way cooler, each brand/team was tasked with decorating a pumpkin and attaching some type of moving apparatus (wheels) to it, think a soapbox race of pumpkins. I started to not go because I haven’t made a work BFF yet and with my S.A.S (social awkwardness syndrome) I’d be left standing around flashing my awkward smile to everyone that happened to look my way. But I sucked it up and went anyway. Luckily, the “pumpkin punch” was spiked. And by spiked I mean it was the strongest drink I had ever tasted in my life and I was slightly drunk off of HALF a cup . I looked at my phone it was 4:30p a full hour and a half before I got off work. I shrugged and watched pumpkins get demolished as they rolled down a ramp.
 d594ec7d6abc9797460fe2bc3450b1ed
Day 4: During the second half of orientation there was a fire drill. And by fire drill I mean we all walked outside and received vouchers for the Beignet Truck that was parked outside. It’s as if they reward you with food for doing nothing here. I would love to see what we get after an actual fire evacuation. Then I was invited to a vendor pitch meeting that was catered by In N Out. I watched cool ads and movie trailers while scarfing down a cheeseburger animal style. I swear I didn’t eat the whole thing.
 anigif_enhanced-22642-1413395719-7
I’m writing this on Thursday night so that’s all I got for now. There’s so much more I could include but for the sake of time and to not sound like a “Bragging Breanne” I’ll just stick with the highlights. Everyday this week I kept thinking; I can’t believe I work here. Like is it okay for me to be this happy? This blessed? Do I deserve all this? I don’t know, all I know is I’ve worked damn hard to get here…well somewhere. I’m not going to question it anymore. I’m just going to enjoy my free food and booze and pray I don’t turn into an alcoholic and/or become morbidly obese.
One thought on “New Kid On the Block

Leave a Reply

