“New” Obsession

I don’t know about you but when it comes to binge watching shows, I’m a pro. And since I’ve watched everything the streamers have to offer, I found myself wanting to go back and rewatch shows from my childhood and see if they hit different. So I’m currently binge watching Beverly Hills 90210. I’m not talking about the spin off from 2008 that no one watched, I’m talking about the OG 90s Beverly Hills 90210. First of all, why was I allowed to watch this show?! I was like 7 when it first aired and the pilot comes in hot, right out the gate we’re dealing with underage drinking and borderline statutory rape! But despite the serious subject matter, lack of diversity (I’m convinced black people didn’t exist in Beverly Hills in the 90s, except for the time Sherice (Vivica Fox) and her family moved in next door to the Walsh’s looking like a bootleg Banks family), it’s such a fun watch. To a middle schooler, it was how I thought my high school experience was going to be. We were all gonna be like mini adults who wore cool clothes, drove expensive cars, and had intense relationships. Here are just a few reasons why you should rewatch or watch for the first time…

The Clothes – Watching this show as a kid, the cast dressed like goddamn runway models to me. Today, those looks evolved into hipster fashion and most of the outfits seen on the show can be found at your local Crossroads or anywhere in Silver Lake. My favorite fashion moment is when the gang goes to the Spring Dance, Kelly and Brenda end up wearing the same dress, Donna wears a red quinceanera dress that she can’t sit down in and David dances way too hard in MC hammer pants. 

Brandon “Fine Ass” Walsh – I don’t know how it’s possible but Brandon gets finer every episode. He’s the boy next door who always says and does the right thing. I almost cried when he skipped out on his SATs so he could be with Brenda, his twin, during her biopsy because that’s just the kind of guy Brandon is *swoon* I keep telling myself it’s okay to be sexually attracted to the 17 year old version of him because he’s like 50 now. But those eyes, that hair, that smile….I would have risked it all for him in those silk shirts and high tops.

The Drama – Every episode deals with some teenage issue that somehow gets wrapped up by the end of the episode. For example, Kelly’s alcoholic mom, Brenda dating a grown ass man, Brandon stopping a friend from committing suicide and that’s just season 1! Each time we get hit with these hard hitting storylines, they get wrapped up a la Full House with a heart to heart, sappy music and occasionally, ice cream. Like the time Kelly’s friend from elementary school came over for a slumber party and the girls find out she’s abusing diet pills. After her emotional confession, Donna casually goes to the kitchen and jokingly asks the girl if she wants a cookie, she agrees. Anorexia cured! I’m sure that’s exactly how the old white men who wrote for the show thought high school girls solved problems. 

Dylan-Muthafu*kin’-Mckay – West Beverly High’s version of a bad boy. Dylan reminded me of every boy that was in a serious relationship in high school, they were always super into their girlfriend mostly because they came from a broken home. Dylan’s dad was in prison for some rich white man crime and his mom left him when he was 6. We love a broken man and Brenda was always there to put him back together. If they existed today they would be #releationshipgoals. R.I.P Luke Perry ❤

LA Stereotypes – So obviously the show is set in 1990s Beverly Hills but you can’t talk about Beverly Hills without talking about LA; the iconic designer shops, traffic, wealth, weather, the beach and…well, that’s pretty much it. If LA was a character on this show it’d be the most dimensional character ever. Every reference to LA on the show is what someone who’s never been to LA thinks of LA. But it was kinda comforting to know LA people always had a distain for people who lived north of the 405 i.e. The Valley (eww).

So if you couldn’t tell I’m basically obsessed with this show right now and I’m only halfway through season 2. I’ve become way too invested in the characters and situations and find myself reacting to the show like; Let em’ know Brenda…Kelly, you tried it…Steve betta stop playing! This is my reality TV. There are even days when I stay up super late watching episodes unable to turn it off. And now that I’ve written this post, I think, I think I might just need to get a social life…

Leave a comment